Chimney.Services

Wyoming: who needs a license to work on your chimney or fireplace?

Checked Sep 2026·Laws as cited·All 2 records checked Sep 2026

Public recordWY LAW

For consumer remedies, home-sale rules and carbon monoxide law, see Wyoming chimney & fireplace laws — know your rights. That page was verified Sep 2026.

Stove & insert installation: is a credential required in Wyoming?

#stove-installNONE
Credential
NO state credential, NO statewide residential code, NO air-quality overlay — the flattest Pass 2 vacuum in the project: the Pass 1 total-vacuum finding extends to solid fuel (only electricians are state-licensed; no mechanical/HVAC/contractor license exists to capture a stove install at any price); CODE CORRECTION: the SFM adopted the 2024 IFC/IBC/IFGC/IMC/IEBC on 6/28/2024 (July row said 2021 I-codes); the SFM site does not state their reach beyond state buildings/schools/no-local-enforcement areas, so the manufacturer-listing rule is reliably law only inside code cities/counties that adopted the IMC/IRC (Cheyenne, Casper, Gillette, Laramie, Cody, Teton Co./Jackson); 2026 Fast Track Permits Act (HB0002, eff. 7/1/2026) sets local permit-review deadlines but creates no license or statewide code; rural unincorporated Wyoming: no code, no permit, no credential, no inspection; NO wood-smoke device standards or no-burn regime found statewide; NFI/CSIA voluntary
Issuing body
none statewide; municipal/county building departments in code jurisdictions only
Statute
absence — no licensing chapter located to cite (July search trail + SFM site, GOV partial); SFM codes = 2024 I-codes (adopted 6/28/2024); 2026 HB0002 (W.S. 16-13-101/-102)
Dollar threshold
none at any dollar (no credential exists to have a threshold)
Exam
n
Local overlay
y — the ENTIRE regime is local: city/county mechanical permits + municipal contractor licenses (Cheyenne A/B/R, Casper 5 classes, Gillette, Cody, Jackson/Teton — not re-verified)
Confidence
high (absence, multi-source; GOV partial) · checked 2026-09-25
Sources

Gas fireplace service: is a credential required in Wyoming?

#gas-fireplace-serviceNONE
Credential
NO state credential of any kind for gas work — the vacuum is total on BOTH fuels: the State Fire Marshal's site references electrical licensing only (the one construction trade licensed statewide); there is no plumbing, HVAC, mechanical or gas-fitter license, and NO LP dealer or installer license — the only state 'license' touching fuel is the WYDOT Motor Fuel License ($25 per fuel type per location), a fuel-tax instrument that credentials nothing about installation (MT-debunk-pattern trap); gas-appliance and gas-piping work is governed by locally adopted fire/fuel-gas codes in code cities (Cheyenne, Casper, Gillette, Laramie, Teton Co./Jackson) and by NOTHING in no-code rural areas; CODE CORRECTION: the SFM adopted the 2024 IFC, IBC, IFGC, IMC and IEBC on 6/28/2024 plus the 2026 NEC (July row said 2021) — whether their reach extends beyond state buildings/schools/no-local-enforcement areas to ordinary homes is not stated on the SFM site (UNVERIFIED); the only contractor credential anywhere is MUNICIPAL (Cheyenne Class A/B/R, Casper 5 classes, Gillette, Cody, Jackson incl. unincorporated Teton Co. — not re-verified); MISMATCH: NONE — flat vacuum
Issuing body
no state issuing body exists (electrical-only: WY Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety); municipal licensing boards otherwise
Statute
absence — no contractor/gas licensing chapter located in Wyoming statutes (July search trail; GOV confirmation partial via SFM site); SFM codes = 2024 IBC/IFC/IMC/IFGC/IEBC (adopted 6/28/2024) + 2026 NEC
Dollar threshold
none at any dollar (no credential exists to have a threshold)
Exam
n
Local overlay
y — the ENTIRE regime is local: city contractor licenses + city mechanical/gas permits; Teton County (2024 IFC/IWUIC, engineered fireplace plans, spark arrestors — per July) is the most sophisticated jurisdiction
Confidence
high (absence, multi-source; GOV partial) · checked 2026-09-25
Sources

What insurance does Wyoming require of contractors?

#insurance
Regime
none — no state license or registration of any kind (statewide credential = electricians only); municipal contractor licensing only (Cheyenne/Casper/Gillette/Cody/Jackson)
Liability minimum
NONE at state level — no statute requires any contractor to carry GL and there is no registration to attach an attestation to (below even FL's affidavit tier: nothing exists to attest); city contractor licenses require insurance proof (Cheyenne/Casper/Jackson — dollar minimums UNVERIFIED, local overlay flag); the AG's Slender enforcement matter shows door-knockers exploiting exactly this: 'falsely represented... they were licensed and bonded' in a state that issues no such license
Bond
NONE statewide — no license, no bond; municipal license bonds possible but UNVERIFIED; 'bonded' claims by Wyoming contractors are carrier-voluntary and must be verified as DESK documents
Guaranty fund
NONE — no guaranty/recovery fund of any kind (rights-file absence verified); consumer instruments = WCPA actual-damages-only private remedy with 15-day notice-and-cure (W.S. 40-12-108/-109) + 3-business-day home-solicitation cancel (W.S. 40-12-104) + AG complaint desk
Workers' comp threshold
MONOPOLISTIC STATE FUND — 4th in project (with WA/ND/OH): WC is purchased from the Dept. of Workforce Services, no private market; coverage REQUIRED for employees in enumerated EXTRAHAZARDOUS employment incl. construction trades (W.S. 27-14-108); sole proprietors/partners/corporate officers/LLC members NOT covered unless they elect optional coverage under W.S. 27-14-108(k); employers of non-enumerated employees may elect all-employee coverage — so a solo Wyoming sweep can be legally blank everywhere
How to verify
the monopolistic fund creates Wyoming's ONLY state-verified compliance artifact: the DWS Certificate of Good Standing (joint WC + unemployment-insurance standing), requestable INCLUDING BY THIRD PARTIES at cogs.wyo.gov = AUTOMATED (state checking its own ledger — WA/ND pattern); that certificate is the single checkable object in the state; GL/bond/competence = DESK carrier-direct documents + city license lookups (cheyennewy.portal.opengov.com); electrical-only lookup wyelectrician.imagetrendlicense.com
Confidence
high (vacuum + monopolistic structure); medium (city COI/bond details) · checked 2026-07-22
Sources

Download the full licensing matrix (CSV) · All states

Before anyone goes on your roof

What should you ask a chimney company in Wyoming?

  1. Is your company a member of the National Chimney Sweep Guild (NCSG)?
  2. Does the technician coming to my home hold an individual NCSG certification, and which one?
  3. Does the technician hold a National Fireplace Institute (NFI) certification — and for which fuel: wood, gas, or pellet?
  4. What other certifications does the technician hold (for example, CSIA), and can I check them on the issuer's own roster?
  5. What state or local license or registration covers this work here, and what is the number?
  6. Will you send a certificate of insurance, dated and naming your company, before work starts?
  7. Which NFPA 211 inspection level — Level 1, 2, or 3 — are you performing, and why that level?
  8. Will you show me what you found — photos or video of the flue — in writing?

We take no fee from any certification body, guild, or contractor, and are not paid to mention anyone named.