Chimney.Services

Indiana: no state license covers chimney work. Here's what that means.

Researched Jul 2026·Laws as cited·Verified Sep 2026

PUBLIC RECORDIN LAW

Verified with caveats

Our verification pass (Sep 2026) checked the claims this page relies on against primary sources. It left 5 open items, listed as written in our working notes under How we checked this page.

Indiana is the light-touch, CO-laggard state: no state chimney license (only plumbers are state-licensed), just a written-contract mandate over $150 and the Deceptive Consumer Sales Act behind it — and no statewide CO-alarm requirement for existing homes found. It sits in the Ohio/Illinois family (comparison: no state license, local patchwork, real seller disclosure), but with a weaker safety floor and one distinctive lever: the DCSA lets senior (60+) consumers seek treble damages for incurable or uncured deceptive acts — aimed squarely at the elder homeowners chimney scammers target.

The short answers

License required?

NO

NO state license (plumbers only) — LOCAL (Indianapolis + some cities); statewide… #license

Exam tests chimney skill?

NO STATE EXAM

No state license covers this work statewide #qualified-gap

Inspection required at sale?

NO

No chimney inspection mandated at transfer #home-sale

Right to cancel

YES

YES (IC 24-5-10-8) #remedies

CO alarm required in your home?

LIMITED

WEAK — new construction only; not required on alterations/repairs; none at sale (IRC-based R315) #co-law

Can an unregistered contractor sue you?

SEE SECTION

No one-word answer fits — the section has the detail #remedies

Short answers are derived mechanically from our verified summary row and section text. Where the text doesn't support a one-word answer, the cell says SEE SECTION instead of guessing.

NATIONAL A national standard or federal rule — true everywhere.
IN LAW Indiana statute, regulation or registry.
LOCAL City or county rules — they vary by address.

The story

What makes Indiana different?

#storyVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORD

Indiana is the light-touch, CO-laggard state: no state chimney license (only plumbers are state-licensed), just a written-contract mandate over $150 and the Deceptive Consumer Sales Act behind it — and no statewide CO-alarm requirement for existing homes found. It sits in the Ohio/Illinois family (comparison: no state license, local patchwork, real seller disclosure), but with a weaker safety floor and one distinctive lever: the DCSA lets senior (60+) consumers seek treble damages for incurable or uncured deceptive acts — aimed squarely at the elder homeowners chimney scammers target. The credential vacuum is the pitch — there's nothing statewide to look up for the person on your roof.

Licensing

Does Indiana license chimney work?

State licensing and registration

#licenseVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDIN LAWLOCAL

No state license covers chimney work in Indiana. The state licenses plumbers but has no statewide general-contractor or home-improvement license — Indiana leaves that to local governments. What the state imposes is consumer paperwork, not a credential: the home improvement contracts chapter, Ind. Code 24-5-11, applies to any "real property improvement contract" whose price exceeds $150 (IC 24-5-11-4) and prescribes written-contract contents (IC 24-5-11-10: parties, supplier contact info, detailed description, start/completion dates, contract price). Licensing is LOCAL: Indianapolis/Marion County (Dept. of Business & Neighborhood Services) licenses certain trades; other large cities may run their own registration — not individually confirmed; do not name Fort Wayne/Evansville programs on the page. "Licensed and bonded" in Indiana usually means a city registration plus insurance, not a state exam or registry.

SourcesGOVhigh confidenceCitations are inline above; no web address was recorded for this read.

What the credential does not test

#qualified-gapVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDIN LAWLOCAL

As wide as Ohio's and Illinois's (comparison). Statewide there is nothing to verify for chimney work beyond a written contract — no exam, no registry — and local licensing, where it exists, tests general trade/permit knowledge, not flue diagnosis. Individual certs (NCSG CCP/CCR; CSIA CCS, C-DET) and an independent audit fill a genuine vacuum.

SourcesCitations are inline above; no web address was recorded for this read.

At home sale

What does a Indiana seller have to tell you about the chimney?

Seller disclosure when a home sells

#home-saleVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDNATIONALIN LAW

Ind. Code 32-21-5 requires the seller of 1–4 unit residential property to complete a disclosure form adopted by the Indiana Real Estate Commission (IC 32-21-5-7), covering the known condition of "the foundation, the mechanical systems, the roof, the structure, the water and sewer systems" and other listed items; the prescribed form is the Seller's Residential Real Estate Sales Disclosure (State Form 46234). The form changed in 2026. The Indiana Real Estate Commission adopted an updated form, State Form 46234 (R9/2-26), as a final rule on March 11, 2026 (LSA Document #25-627; in.gov/pla/rulesingov/lsa-document-25-627, checked Sep 25, 2026 — the PLA page does not state the rule's effective date), and R9/2-26 is the version the state forms catalog now serves (forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=16805, checked Sep 25, 2026). On R9/2-26, section 1.D "Heating & Cooling System" lists "Woodburning Stove," "Fireplace," and "Fireplace Insert" as rows to mark Not Applicable/Rented, Defective, Not Defective, or Unknown, and section 1.B "Electrical System" has a row for "Smoke / Fire Alarms Carbon Monoxide Detectors." The words "chimney" and "flue" do not appear on R9/2-26. The older form (R6/6-14) asked "Are the furnace/woodstove/chimney/flue all in working order?" (copy at in.gov/health/eph/files/46234-fill-in.pdf) — that question is not on the current form, so the page must not quote it as current. Actual-knowledge basis; the form is not a warranty. No inspection is mandated at transfer; NFPA 211 Level 2 stays a NATIONAL STANDARD. (State Form 46021 is the separate tax "Sales Disclosure" — different document.)

SourcesGOVstatute — high; form wording — high, current form read Sep 25, 2026GOVin.gov/pla/rulesingov/lsa-docume…GOVforms.in.gov/Download.aspxGOVin.gov/health/eph/files/46234-fi…

Your remedies

What can you do if a chimney job in Indiana goes wrong?

Consumer remedies and cancellation rights

#remediesVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDIN LAW

The Deceptive Consumer Sales Act (DCSA), Ind. Code 24-5-0.5: a consumer relying on an uncured or incurable deceptive act may recover actual damages or $500, whichever is greater; for a willful act the court may increase damages to the greater of 3× actual damages or $1,000, plus attorney's fees (IC 24-5-0.5-4(a)). Senior consumers (age 60+, IC 24-5-0.5-2) relying on an uncured or incurable deceptive act "may bring an action to recover treble damages, if appropriate" (IC 24-5-0.5-4(i)) — a distinctive Indiana angle for elder chimney-scam targets (treble is available, not automatic). Violations of the home improvement contracts chapter are deceptive acts actionable by the AG or a consumer under IC 24-5-0.5-4 (IC 24-5-11-14). Separately, Home Solicitation Sales (Ind. Code 24-5-10) give a right to cancel before midnight of the third business day after the later of the agreement or the supplier's required notice (IC 24-5-10-8). The Indiana AG's Consumer Protection Division enforces; its home-improvement fact sheet restates "Indiana law requires home improvement contracts exceeding $150 to be in writing," notes "Licensing requirements vary from community to community," and takes complaints at 1-800-382-5516 / IndianaConsumer.com (in.gov/attorneygeneral/consumer-protection-division/files/CPD_Fact_Sheet-Home_improv_Scams.pdf, checked Sep 25, 2026 — GOV).

Scam patterns and enforcement

#scamsVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDIN LAW

The Indiana AG's Consumer Protection Division pursues home-improvement fraud under the DCSA and IC 24-5-11, and the door-knock "we noticed your chimney" pitch is a textbook Home Solicitation Sales (24-5-10) + incurable-deceptive-act scenario — with the senior-treble provision especially relevant. Specific IN chimney-sweep enforcement actions: NOT CONFIRMED — patterns, not names.

SourcesREFpartialCitations are inline above; no web address was recorded for this read.

Permits & codes

Which chimney jobs need a permit in Indiana?

Permits and building codes

#permitsVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDNATIONALIN LAWLOCAL

Indiana has a statewide building code through the Fire Prevention & Building Safety Commission — the 2020 Indiana Residential Code, which adopts the 2018 IRC by reference — enforced by local building departments. IDHS's 2025 readoption review says the Commission is reviewing the latest national model codes for an update, with no adoption date set. The Commission's new 2026 Indiana Building Code final rule (2024 IBC with Indiana amendments; IDHS posting dated June 1, 2026, in.gov/dhs/files/Building-Code-LSA-Document-6.1.2026.pdf — DOC) covers Class 1 (commercial) structures only and leaves one- and two-family dwellings under the Indiana Residential Code (675 IAC 14); the Indiana Association of Building Officials still lists the 2020 Indiana Residential Code (2018 IRC base, effective Dec 26, 2019) as current (iabo.com/Current-Code, checked Sep 25, 2026 — REF). Chimney relines, rebuilds, and solid-fuel appliance installs are generally permit work where local enforcement exists; in some rural/unincorporated areas enforcement is light. Include the local-variance disclaimer.

Solid fuel and environmental rules

#solid-fuelVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDIN LAW

No statewide burn-ban or stove-emission regime; outdoor wood boilers regulated locally where at all. Not a material content section for IN.

SourcesCitations are inline above; no web address was recorded for this read.

Carbon monoxide

Is a carbon monoxide alarm required in Indiana?

Carbon monoxide and smoke alarm law

#co-lawVERIFIED SEP 2026PUBLIC RECORDIN LAW

Indiana is the CO laggard of this set. No statewide CO-alarm mandate for existing 1–2 family dwellings was found. The Indiana Residential Code's R315 requires CO alarms in dwelling units with a fuel-fired appliance or attached garage for new construction, and IDHS's R315 guidance states: "Carbon monoxide alarms are not required to be installed in townhouses and one- and two-family dwellings when alterations, repairs or additions occur." No CO requirement at sale was found — the 2026 seller form (R9/2-26) only asks the seller to mark the condition of any "Smoke / Fire Alarms Carbon Monoxide Detectors" present; it does not require them. Some cities add rental rules (e.g., Bloomington — not re-verified). Absence is the finding: most existing Indiana homes carry no state CO-alarm obligation — a live safety talking point, not a gap to gloss.

SourcesGOVhigh confidence; the weak spotCitations are inline above; no web address was recorded for this read.

Season calendar

When should you book a chimney sweep in Indiana?

#seasonJUL 2026

JAN
FEB
MAR
APR
MAY
JUN
JUL
AUG
SEP
OCT
NOV
DEC

Rush Best booking

Mixed-cold — colder/lake-effect in the north (South Bend, near Lake Michigan), milder in the south. Burn season ~Oct–Mar (longer north). Rush: SEP–NOV. Best booking: APR–JUN.

Across the border

Indiana vs Michigan: License required

Indiana

NO

NO state license (plumbers only) — LOCAL (Indianapolis + some cities); statewide…

Michigan

YES

state license ≥$600 (RB or M&A-masonry) Read Michigan

Before anyone goes on your roof

What should you ask a chimney company in Indiana?

  1. Is your company a member of the National Chimney Sweep Guild (NCSG)?
  2. Does the technician coming to my home hold an individual NCSG certification, and which one?
  3. Does the technician hold a National Fireplace Institute (NFI) certification — and for which fuel: wood, gas, or pellet?
  4. What other certifications does the technician hold (for example, CSIA), and can I check them on the issuer's own roster?
  5. What state or local license or registration covers this work here, and what is the number?
  6. Will you send a certificate of insurance, dated and naming your company, before work starts?
  7. Which NFPA 211 inspection level — Level 1, 2, or 3 — are you performing, and why that level?
  8. Will you show me what you found — photos or video of the flue — in writing?

We take no fee from any certification body, guild, or contractor, and are not paid to mention anyone named.

Frequently asked questions about Indiana chimney law

What should I check before hiring a chimney company in Indiana?

State licensing: NO state license (plumbers only) — LOCAL (Indianapolis + some cities); statewide written-contract duty > $150 (IC 24-5-11). Registration or credential: local; no state competency registry for chimney work. Seller disclosure at sale: YES — IC 32-21-5, State Form 46234 (R9/2-26): Woodburning Stove / Fireplace / Fireplace Insert rows under Heating & Cooling; no chimney or flue line. Right to cancel a sale made at your home: YES (IC 24-5-10-8). Carbon monoxide alarm law: WEAK — new construction only; not required on alterations/repairs; none at sale (IRC-based R315). Where to check a contractor: local building depts + Indianapolis BNS + IN AG (in.gov/attorneygeneral). Then ask the eight questions below, get the inspection findings in writing with photos, and never sign for "emergency" work on the day of a door-knock.

Answer drawn from: verified summary row (§11). #faq-what-to-do

Is a chimney inspection required when a home sells in Indiana?

Ind. Code 32-21-5 requires the seller of 1–4 unit residential property to complete a disclosure form adopted by the Indiana Real Estate Commission (IC 32-21-5-7), covering the known condition of "the foundation, the mechanical systems, the roof, the structure, the water and sewer systems" and other listed items; the prescribed form is the Seller's Residential Real Estate Sales Disclosure (State Form 46234). The form changed in 2026. The Indiana Real Estate Commission adopted an updated form, State Form 46234 (R9/2-26), as a final rule on March 11, 2026 (LSA Document #25-627; in.gov/pla/rulesingov/lsa-document-25-627, checked Sep 25, 2026 — the PLA page does not state the rule's effective date), and R9/2-26 is the version the state forms catalog now serves (forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=16805, checked Sep 25, 2026).

Answer drawn from: §3 text. #faq-home-sale

Can I cancel a chimney contract I signed at my door in Indiana?

The Deceptive Consumer Sales Act (DCSA), Ind. Code 24-5-0.5: a consumer relying on an uncured or incurable deceptive act may recover actual damages or $500, whichever is greater; for a willful act the court may increase damages to the greater of 3× actual damages or $1,000, plus attorney's fees (IC 24-5-0.5-4(a)). Senior consumers (age 60+, IC 24-5-0.5-2) relying on an uncured or incurable deceptive act "may bring an action to recover treble damages, if appropriate" (IC 24-5-0.5-4(i)) — a distinctive Indiana angle for elder chimney-scam targets (treble is available, not automatic). Violations of the home improvement contracts chapter are deceptive acts actionable by the AG or a consumer under IC 24-5-0.5-4 (IC 24-5-11-14).

Answer drawn from: §4 text. #faq-cancel

How we checked this page

Verification pass — September 25, 2026 · checked 2026-09-25. Items marked STILL OPEN are exactly that.

Open items from this pass

As written in our working notes. Lines like "must say" or "cite only" are instructions to our writers about how a section is worded.

  1. disclosure chip must say "fireplace / fireplace insert / woodburning stove rows — no chimney or flue line" (not "chimney line")
  2. give no effective date for the R9/2-26 form
  3. no local registries named
  4. AG section pattern-only
  5. statute text via Justia copies (iga.in.gov not fetchable).
Show the verification log

Checked 2026-09-25 by verification agent (sweep #2).

  • 2026 law-change sweep: State Form 46234 revised to R9/2-26 (final rule Mar 11, 2026); 2026 Indiana Building Code is commercial-only; nothing on licensing, CO or chimneys in 8 searches.
  • Mirror spot-check: n/a (Indiana not a flagged mirror state); statute text still on Justia 2025 copies (iga.in.gov is JavaScript-only), now corroborated by the AG fact sheet ($150; local licensing).
  • Dead links: none — all 7 URLs resolved (Justia IC ×4, secure.in.gov 2025 Readoption Review, in.gov R315 guidance PDF (text partly garbled but the quoted sentence reads), forms.in.gov); bare hosts iga.in.gov (JS-only) and in.gov/attorneygeneral resolve.
  • Blocker — Form 46234 chimney/flue wording: CORRECTED — current R9/2-26 has no "chimney" or "flue"; Heating & Cooling rows "Woodburning Stove," "Fireplace," "Fireplace Insert" (Defective / Not Defective / Unknown / Not Applicable-Rented); Electrical row "Smoke / Fire Alarms Carbon Monoxide Detectors"; the "furnace/woodstove/chimney/flue … working order" question exists only on the superseded R6/6-14 — https://forms.in.gov/Download.aspx?id=16805 — DOC; https://www.in.gov/pla/rulesingov/lsa-document-25-627 — GOV; old form https://www.in.gov/health/eph/files/46234-fill-in.pdf — DOC.
  • Load-bearing (a) licensing: RESOLVED — IC 24-5-11-4 "exceeds one hundred fifty dollars ($150)" (Justia, REF) + AG fact sheet (GOV); no state GC license.
  • Load-bearing (c) CO: RESOLVED (reconfirmed) — IDHS R315 guidance: CO alarms "not required … when alterations, repairs or additions occur" — DOC; NCSL table lists no Indiana CO statute — REF.
  • DCSA 24-5-0.5-4(a)/(i), IC 24-5-10-8: RESOLVED (reconfirmed on Justia 2025) — REF.
  • Local registries beyond Indianapolis; IN chimney AG action: STILL OPEN (none found).
  • Template-leakage sweep: clean (OH/IL references are labeled comparisons).
  • Corrections made this pass: §3 form wording replaced (R9/2-26 has no chimney/flue line; old question attributed to R6/6-14); §11 row and header updated; §5 adds the commercial-only 2026 Indiana Building Code; §4 adds AG fact-sheet corroboration; §6 notes the form's CO-detector condition row.