Chimney.Services

District of Columbia: who needs a license to work on your chimney or fireplace?

Checked Sep 2026·Laws as cited·All 3 records checked Sep 2026

Public recordDC LAW

For consumer remedies, home-sale rules and carbon monoxide law, see District of Columbia chimney & fireplace laws — know your rights. That page was verified Sep 2026.

Stove & insert installation: is a credential required in District of Columbia?

#stove-installLICENSE
Credential
No solid-fuel trade credential (the exam-tested gasfitter lane is gas-only, per Pass 1) — the capture is the contracting + permit stack: DLCP Basic Business License with Home Improvement Contractor endorsement for contracts of $300 or more, aggregated over 12 months between the same parties (16 DCMR § 899.1) — $25,000 surety bond + certificate of liability insurance + salesperson BBL, fee $288.20, no exam (DLCP; the '$50k/$100k/$10k GL' amounts from Pass 4 are NOT stated by DLCP — unverified, do not publish); unlicensed pre-completion payment voids the contract (16 DCMR § 800.1); plus a DOB permit under the 2017 DC Construction Codes (2015 ICC family, eff. 5/29/2020 — still the current set per DOB, Sep 2026; DCRC ch. 10 chimneys/fireplaces carries the listing/manufacturer-instruction rules); trade permits issue only to licensed and bonded master trade professionals — 'Homeowners cannot apply for trade permits' (DOB) — WHICH master license the DOB desk demands for a solid-fuel appliance (building permit vs mechanical trade permit) is UNVERIFIED; ROWHOUSE/PARTY-WALL ANGLE (task question answered): NO codified shared-flue/party-wall chimney provision found in the DCRC — party-wall chimneys are a construction-stock fact governed by common-law party-wall doctrine + standard IRC ch. 10 rules (absence is the finding); 16 DCMR § 899 excludes licensed plumber/gasfitter work from 'home improvement' (per Pass 1) but a solid-fuel install is not gasfitter work — the HIC BBL applies
Issuing body
DC DLCP (HIC BBL); DC Department of Buildings (permits under the DC Construction Codes)
Statute
16 DCMR ch. 8 (HIC — §§ 800.1, 802/803 instruments, 899.1 definitions; § 899 official text last amended 2009 per dcregs, read on a 2017 reprint); 12 DCMR A-M (2017 DC Construction Codes)
Dollar threshold
$300 (HIC trigger — contract price $300 or more, 12-month aggregation, 16 DCMR § 899.1)
Exam
n
Local overlay
n — single jurisdiction; DOB is the only permit office
Confidence
medium · checked 2026-09-25
Sources

Chimney flashing: is a credential required in District of Columbia?

#chimney-flashingLICENSE
Credential
No roofing-specific license — flashing/leak repair on a residence is 'home improvement work' (repair/replacement of residential property, 16 DCMR § 899.1) captured by the HIC BBL for contracts of $300 or more (12-month aggregation) — $25,000 bond + liability-insurance certificate, fee $288.20, no exam (DLCP; the '$50k/$100k/$10k GL' amounts from Pass 4 are not stated by DLCP — unverified) — the MD-MHIC pattern one river over — or by a General Contractor/Construction Manager BBL; PERMIT LAYER: DOB's Homeowner's Center handles 'Roof Repairs/Replacement – No structural changes' while structural work needs a full building permit (the 'postcard permit' label came from a private permit-expediter blog and is NOT confirmed on DOB's page — do not publish it); 16 DCMR § 899's plumber/gasfitter exclusion does not reach roofing — flashing stays inside home improvement; no trade exam anywhere in the lane (the bonded-but-competence-blind DC pattern from Pass 1 extends to the roof)
Issuing body
DC DLCP (HIC/GC BBL); DC Department of Buildings (permits)
Statute
16 DCMR ch. 8 (HIC — §§ 800.1, 899.1); 12 DCMR (2017 DC Construction Codes)
Dollar threshold
$300 (HIC trigger — $300 or more, 12-month aggregation, 16 DCMR § 899.1)
Exam
n
Local overlay
n — single jurisdiction
Confidence
medium · checked 2026-09-25
Sources

Gas fireplace service: is a credential required in District of Columbia?

#gas-fireplace-serviceLICENSE
Credential
Master Plumber/Gasfitter OR Master Gasfitter (gas-only class exists; tiers: apprentice → journeyman → master, 4 yrs/8,000 hrs then 4 more yrs as journeyman; company additionally files a $5,000 Plumbing and Gas Fitting Bond for the contractor AND the designated master — each licensee bonded separately, bond expires Mar 31 of even years); gasfitter scope covers 'any nonindustrial type of gas appliance and piping system from the outlet of the meter set assembly... to the inlet connections of appliances' for natural gas AND 'undiluted liquefied petroleum gas' — NO separate LP/propane credential (absence verified in scope statute); gas-log/gas-fireplace install & connection sit squarely in this scope; permits (Plumbing and Gas Permit) pulled at DOB by/under a DC master
Issuing body
DLCP Occupational and Professional Licensing — Board of Industrial Trades (licenses + bonds); DC Department of Buildings (permit desk, Fuel Gas Code enforcement)
Statute
D.C. Code § 47-2853.121–.123 (scope + eligibility); Act of Dec. 20, 1944, 58 Stat. 819 + DC Plumbing and Gas Fitting Regulations (bond authority per DLCP bond form); 2017 DC Construction Codes incl. Fuel Gas Code (2015 IFGC as amended, DCMR Title 12)
Dollar threshold
$0 — no dollar threshold; all gasfitting is licensed work
Exam
yes — journeyman + master exams, open book on International Plumbing Code and International Fuel Gas Code (DLCP instructions cite 2012 editions — not re-read Sep 2026); journeyman exam waivable via completed nationally-registered apprenticeship certificate (§ 47-2853.122(b-1)); trade permits issue only to licensed and bonded masters — 'Homeowners cannot apply for trade permits' (DOB)
Local overlay
n/a (city-state — single jurisdiction; only overlay is DOB historic-district permit review, not licensing)
Confidence
high · checked 2026-09-25
Sources

What insurance does District of Columbia require of contractors?

#insurance
Regime
license
Liability minimum
HIC endorsement: GL + property damage insurance for the FULL license period, minimums $50,000 bodily injury per person / $100,000 aggregate per accident / $10,000 property damage per accident, cancelable only on 30 days' notice to the Director (16 DCMR § 803.1–.2); self-insurance alternative: net worth ≥ $100,000 incl. a $5,000 claims reserve + a claims-handling employee, proven by CPA certificate + affidavit (§ 803.3–.4). CORRECTION to prior belief: insurance is NOT 'in lieu of' the bond — §§ 802 and 803 are two separate stacked requirements. Trade side: NO GL minimum located for plumber/gasfitter licensees — their instrument is the $5,000 bond only. TRAP: DCMR text verified from a 2017 mirror (see UNVERIFIED)
Bond
HIC: $25,000 surety bond running to the District, extending to third-party recovery, term = the 2-year license period (16 DCMR § 802.1); alternative to the BOND (not insurance): deposit with the D.C. Treasurer of $25,000 cash/certified check or US-government bonds with ≥ $26,000 maturity value (§ 802.4–.5); surety NOT liable for job completion — only homeowner financial loss from violations criminally prosecutable (§ 802.3). Plumber/gasfitter: $5,000 'Plumbing and Gas Fitting Bond' per licensee — separate bonds for the contractor entity AND the designated master — payable to the District and any aggrieved person, expires March 31 of even years (DLCP bond form, citing Act of Dec. 20, 1944, 58 Stat. 819). Both bond types are FILED WITH DLCP = STATE-VERIFIED at licensure/renewal; insurance evidence also furnished to the Director = STATE-VERIFIED at issuance (continuous-coverage policing between renewals is the weak point)
Guaranty fund
NONE — DC has no home-improvement guaranty/recovery fund; searches return only Maryland's MHIC Guaranty Fund and CT/MA funds (absence is the finding — and a confusion risk for DC customers who know the MD fund). DC substitutes: claims on the $25k HIC bond, the § 800.1 disgorgement rule, and CPPA treble/$1,500 damages
Workers' comp threshold
1+ employees — 'if an employer has one (1) or more employees, the employer is required to have workers' compensation insurance coverage' (DOES OWC FAQ); D.C. Code § 32-1501 et seq., coverage § 32-1503; even domestic workers at 240+ hrs/quarter; self-insurance only with OWC approval; sole proprietor with zero employees owes no coverage for self; corporate-officer exemption mechanics NOT located (see UNVERIFIED)
How to verify
WC: PUBLIC ONLINE LOOKUP EXISTS — DOES links 'Employers' Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage Verification' to https://www.ewccv.com/cvs/ (NCCI coverage-verification portal); not request-based-only. BBL/HIC: Scout https://scout.dcra.dc.gov (also branded scout.dlcp.dc.gov). Trade licenses: https://govservices.dcra.dc.gov/oplaportal. Bonds: filed with DLCP, not independently searchable — bond status is inferred from license being active
Confidence
high · checked 2026-07-10
Sources

Download the full licensing matrix (CSV) · All states

Before anyone goes on your roof

What should you ask a chimney company in District of Columbia?

  1. Is your company a member of the National Chimney Sweep Guild (NCSG)?
  2. Does the technician coming to my home hold an individual NCSG certification, and which one?
  3. Does the technician hold a National Fireplace Institute (NFI) certification — and for which fuel: wood, gas, or pellet?
  4. What other certifications does the technician hold (for example, CSIA), and can I check them on the issuer's own roster?
  5. What state or local license or registration covers this work here, and what is the number?
  6. Will you send a certificate of insurance, dated and naming your company, before work starts?
  7. Which NFPA 211 inspection level — Level 1, 2, or 3 — are you performing, and why that level?
  8. Will you show me what you found — photos or video of the flue — in writing?

We take no fee from any certification body, guild, or contractor, and are not paid to mention anyone named.